It’s true that we don’t know what we’ve got until we lose it, but it’s also true that we don’t know what we’ve been missing until it arrives. ..

the pond and flower's

Because there's beauty around you everywhere...you just fail to notice it.

It’s funny that I love this picture so much since it’s taken in a place I considered to be the dullest place on earth. A place I thought had no beauty whatsoever! Since the venue for our school excursions never changed, we returned to this same park every year without fail. With nothing to do but to sit around in the sun and stare at funny couples who just want their privacy not a babble of school kids ogling at them, us school kids never liked this park much. We all changed through all those visits but the park seemed to remain the same.

It’s hilarious that I learned to love this place only on my last trip there when I knew there was no coming back….. I wanted to capture every corner of that park, to remember every second, I didn’t want to let go of the feeling i had standing in the middle of that park with my camera and the sun in my eyes knowing that the bond I had with the park (yes, i really did have one !) had broken, that the tradition of my yearly visit probably was over with my school life coming to an end. I could promise myself it wasn’t – that I still would visit, but I wouldn’t be fooling anyone.

So i just stood there and tried to remember every memory associated with it. The feelings I had at that moment. That particular smell that can only belong to one place (and each place has one). That’s all we can really do sometimes – remember and try to never forget.

Is it true that taking things for granted is human nature ?. is it true that we never really appreciate what we’ve got until we’ve lost it ?.

I don’t know…but I’m starting to belive it more with every day that passes.

Leave a Reply

