The Art of Losing

4 seasons

One Art

The art of losing isn’t hard to master;

so many things seem filled with the intent
to be lost that their loss is no disaster.

Lose something every day. Accept the fluster
of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.
The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

Then practice losing farther, losing faster:
places, and names, and where it was you meant
to travel. None of these will bring disaster.

I lost my mother’s watch. And look! my last, or
next-to-last, of three loved houses went.
The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

I lost two cities, lovely ones. And, vaster,
some realms I owned, two rivers, a continent.
I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster.

–Even losing you (the joking voice, a gesture
I love) I shan’t have lied. It’s evident
the art of losing’s not too hard to master
though it may look like (Write it!) like disaster.

– Elizabeth Bishop

Because this poem fits into the prevalent mood very well. Everything happening to me right now – the transition into second year, the prospect of having braces(which basically means a BIG change, i don’t quite know how to explain ), the nostalgia for the cantonment and the shifting base that happened every three years and not knowing which people are going to be staying in my life, just the way they were and which aren’t. Everything/everyone around me seems to be in a phase of transition once again.  ‘The art of losing’, as Elizabeth Bishop calls it, is something every army kid has to learn to master, then love and eventually crave.

and funnily enough, i have ‘The Man Who Can’t Be Moved’ by The Script stuck in my head =|

12 thoughts on “The Art of Losing

  1. Losing is more a part of our lives than gaining. 🙂 its hard to figure out which one of the two is the consequence and which one is the cause.

  2. I just came across ur blog when I was reading about the CC….and just realized that we have the same page layout…..great minds think alike?…
    Wud luv to hear from u….
    Cheers,
    sparkylaurie!

    • We have exactly the same layout and the first thing i saw on your blog is the Forest Gump Quote. Great minds do think alike =)! I’m going to go read the rest of that post of yours and go through the blog.
      =)

      • The poem was simply beautiful ; what really caught my attention was the way you picked it to actually portray what you are going thru…..We all go thru transitions in every stage of life…..when you are a student…when you are a bride…when you are a wife…when you are a mother…when you are a grandmother…will it ever end?Lol I guess the best that we can do is master it (as the poem says)though it looks like disaster while we are at it…and surely after a while we will definitely be able to look back and say hey! that was not bad after all…:) Keep up the good work!

  3. It really is a beautiful poem, isn’t it? I love how it speaks across the gaps of humanity. Everyone can relate to this in one way or another.

    You sound like you have a good head on your shoulders. I have faith that you will transition with grace. Change is always hard.

    • It is a beautiful poem. what I really like about it is you can always connect to it, no matter where you stand in life or what age you are. Thank You. I’m still in the weird space of transition right now but i’m sure i’ll get out of it just fine.

  4. Is it really loosing or is it that you gain all the time. What every civilian kid would die to give – understand different people all the time, knowing more than any other person all the time, every three years……..

  5. Followed you over from CC club. Enjoyed the poem. Moving can be an adventure, there was a time when I liked the constant change of people and locations. I would have to say I longed even craved the change in my life. I came to a place where it ceased to be fun and I longed for consistancy … haha even that is change isn’t it? I am now a student, a mother, and a grandmother–soon to be twice over–Just seems I can’t escape change. Blessings

    • Even that is change. Yes, that’s so true and so well put. After putting up this post I’ve barely had time to even write anything and I know exactly what you speak of. Funny thing change is =)

Leave a Reply

